Sunday, July 29, 2012
Want to Protect Yourself Against George Zimmermans? $112, Please
A concealed weapons permit in Florida costs $112, plus you'll need to pop $20 - $75 for a mandatory training class. And more money for fingerprints. Get your application here.
Before you get excited, check this list and make sure you qualify & have everything you need:
1. You must be 21 to get a conceled carry permit.
2. Have a passport-style, color photograph
3. Verification of training that satisfies the training requirement. NRA, DD-14, state training course, etc. . Persons serving in the United States Armed Forces may submit a copy of their Military ID Card to satisfy the training requirement.
4. Get certified copies of court documents relating to any criminal charges against you.
5. Take the fingerprint card to a local law enforcement agency and ask to be fingerprinted. In addition to providing fingerprinting services for the traditional “hard-card” format, electronic fingerprint devices are available at almost all 67 county sheriff’s offices in the state. Visit the Electronic Fingerprints Information page to learn how Live Scan fingerprinting saves processing time.*
6. Complete the application. Either print clearly with ink or type the information.
7. In the presence of a notary, sign the application.
*$35 for electronic fingerprint submissions, $42 for hard copy.
Anyway, that's it for 7 years, at which time the state will want another $65 to renew your carry permit.
Does this seem high? If it does, that's because Florida is dominated by Republicans, who refuse to raise taxes but delight in raising all "user fees" like crazy. :(